Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

February 10, 2025

Cameron Hamilton Acting Administrator Federal Emergency Management Agency 500 C Street, SW, 8th Floor Washington, DC 20472 Everett Woodel, Jr. Acting Administrator Small Business Administration 409 Third Street SW Washington, DC 20416

Dear Acting Administrator Hamilton and Acting Administrator Woodel,

We are writing to urge you to extend all deadlines for federal assistance until at least December 31, 2025 for victims to apply for assistance under the January 7, 2025 California Wildfires and Straight-line Winds Major Disaster Declaration.

The current deadline to apply for most FEMA and SBA assistance is March 10, 2025. The exception is SBA economic injury loans, due on October 8, 2025. The standard 60-day application period is sufficient for many disasters; however, you have the authority to extend the filing deadline in extraordinary cases. We understand that extending the deadlines is easier when you receive a request from the governor, and we expect that you will receive such a request in short order. We also recognize that SBA usually follows FEMA's lead in extending deadlines.

The Palisades and the Eaton fires have only now been fully contained. Federal benefits are to cover uninsured losses. Many families do not know yet how much it will cost to rebuild and repair, and it will be many months before these families know whether their losses exceed their insurance. Some are reluctant to apply for aid until they know if they have uninsured losses and are therefore eligible.

We urge you to act swiftly to extend the application deadline to provide the additional time needed by those who were severely impacted by this disaster. Thank you for your commitment to help the victims of this disaster and your attention to this urgent matter.

Sincerely,

Brad Sherman

Member of Congress

dv Chu

Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren

Member of Congress

Kevin Kiley

Member of Congress

torament

John Garamendi

Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D.

Member of Congress

Gilbert Ray Cisneros, Jr.

Member of Congress

Norma J. Torres

Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa

Member of Congress

Ken Calvert

Member of Congress

Vince Fong

Member of Congress

Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

Ted W Lieu

Member of Congress

Josh Harder

Member of Congress

Jared Huffman

Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Manette Dias Barragas

Member of Congress

Jaura Friedman
Member of Congress

inniny Panetta

Member of Congress

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

ton's Matsui

Sydney Kamlager Dove Member of Congress

Luz M Rivas Member of Congress

Sam J. Liccardo Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress Ainde J. Jany

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

Lateefah Simon
Member of Congress

Dave Min
Member of Congress

Mike Thompson
Member of Congress

Derek Tran
Member of Congress

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress SIO.CLL

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez
Member of Congress

Pete Aguilar Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Adam Gray Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa Member of Congress In Swedenell

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Darrell Issa Member of Congress

Young Kim Member of Congress

Mike Levin Member of Congress

Wike Ten

Tom McClintock Member of Congress

T. M. Class

Nancy Pelosi

Member of Congress

David G. Valadao

Member of Congress

Maxine Waters

Member of Congress

Jay/Obernolte

Member of Congress

Mark Takano

Member of Congress

Mark Jalan

Juan Vargas

Member of Congress

George Whitesides

Member of Congress